In 2010, Buffalo Moon brought you “Wetsuit,” their debut release that made everybody want to go to the beach and get drunk and fall in love. More than a year later — after a stop at the gorgeous melodic shores of the “Black Magic/Low Tide Moon,” 7″ — the Buffalo are leading you away from the coastline, waving a pennant that reads Bienvenido a la Selva. If “Wetsuit” was playing love games in the sand, “Selva Surreal” (Surreal Jungle)— the new LP we are proud to release on Moon Glyph— is five young pranksters splashing euphonious paint in the Rainforest, trading in their cool blues for deep velvet and crimson. Fires are blazing. Cannons are blasting. Machine guns are pounding. And that’s just in the first single, “Chica de Luna”. “Salt in my Mouth” and “Amores Perros,” take you back to those sandy beaches but with tighter craftsmanship and more sophisticated swagger. “Raspberry Sorbet” and “Moses Baby” consult sexophone aficionado Michael Lewis to accomplish their schmoozy bedroom peccadillos.  Indeed, in these hallucinatory wetlands, genre shifts hit you like catapulted coconuts, but if you can duck all the madness and sonic booby traps, you find the album for what it is: a feral portrait of a Blakean Innocence expiring before our ears. The Kids of Irony are alright, America, they’re just entering the Jungles of Experience. And it’s wild out there.

Buffalo Moon

Selva Surreal



Format LP, CD
Catalog Number MG32
Edition 500 / 500 + digital download
Side A

1. Vida Caníbal
2. Amores Perros
3. Kind To Me
4. Chica De Luna
5. Salt In My Mouth
6. Raspberry Sorbet

Side B

1. Lonesome Hawaiian Cowboy Blues
2. Trust Your Instincts
3. Moses Baby
4. Main Man
5. VFW
6. Temporary Problems.

Music Video

Moses Baby
Kevin Horn

Karen Freire
Sarah Darnall
Preston Holm

Joel Schmitz
Jon Wetzler

Guitar & Vocals
Bass & Vocals
Clarinet, Synthesizers, Percussion & Vocals
Guitar & Horns
Percussion, Piano & Horns

Michael Lewis
Jaime Pelaez

Elliott Kozel

Juan Losada

Saxophone on tracks A6 & B3
Additional Percussion on tracks A6, B2 & B3
Organ on B6, Addt’l Percussion on B3 & Vocals on B1 & B2
Vocals on A4



Elliott Kozel & Kyle Sobczak
at Science of Sound Studios & Magic Fingers Studio
Justin Perkins
at Mystery Room Mastering

Cover Painting

Maureen Gubia (website)
Emily Utne
Steve Rosborough

Other Releases
Buffalo Moon
"Black Magic / Low Tide Moon"